Les Saintes

  • Home
  • The islands
  • Les Saintes


Les Saintes is composed of two inhabited islands, Terre-de-Haut (5 km2) and Terre-de-Bas (8 km2), and seven islets. Les Saintes were originally inhabited by Bretons and Normans. Fort Napoléon offers a magnificent panoramic view and beautiful exotic gardens in what were once the fort’s ramparts. Baie des Saintes in Terre-de-Haut is one of the most beautiful bays in the world.

Terre-de-Haut is famous for the mountain Pain de Sucre, its colourful streets, multicoloured fishing boats, and painted wood houses.

While there, be sure to try a tourment d’amour (a small tart moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside with a coconut, banana, or guava filling).

Don’t miss

In Terre-de-Haut

  • Pompierre beach
  • Fort Napoléon and its museum that recounts the islands’ history
  • La Baie de Marigot—a bay with very calm, shallow waters
  • L’Anse Crawen—a beach cove for nature lovers

Tourists find it hard to leave without getting some local products, such as salako (a traditional hat), allspice essential oil, liqueur, or péyi cherry jam.

In Terre-de-Bas :

  • The ruins of the former pottery
  • La plage de Grande-Anse—a magnificent beach
  • Petite-Anse—a charming village
  • Trace du Dessus de l’Etang and Trace des Falaises hiking trails